Nurse Practitioners of Lee County

AANP Leadership Award Nominations

Posted over 4 years ago by Arlene Wright

AANP National Leadership Awards – 2015

Two special awards for leadership will be presented at the AANP 2015 National Conference. The Towers Pinnacle Award was initiated in 2013 by the AANP Board of Directors in honor of Jan Towers, PhD, NP-C, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP, one of the founders of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners and long-time health policy expert. The award will be presented annually to an individual who, through policy, practice, or education, has made outstanding contributions that resulted in increased recognition of NPs and increased opportunities for NPs to provide care to patients. The 2014 recipient of the award was Mona Counts, PhD, CRNP, FNAP, FAANP, FAAN . The Sharp Cutting Edge Award, created in 1996 by the American College of Nurse Practitioners Board of Directors, honors Nancy J. Sharp, MSN, RN, FAAN, who was the founding executive director of ACNP. Recipients of this award have shown leadership through innovative services, technologies or advocacy activities that advanced NP practice and patient care. Julie Cowan Novak, DNSc, RN, CPNP, FAANP, FAAN was the 2014 recipient of the Sharp Award.

Nominations for these awards are now open and are being accepted through March 13, 2015. Any current AANP member may submit a nomination of 250 words or less detailing the reasons for nominating the candidate for either award. Deadline for submission of the nomination is March 13, 2015. Award winners will be notified by the end of March and should plan to be present at the AANP 2015 National Conference in New Orleans, June 9 – 14 to accept their award. Recipients will receive round trip airfare for the 2015 conference and one night room accommodations at the conference hotel.

Sharp Cutting Edge Award

Towers Pinnacle Award

The Voice of the Nurse Practitioner®

PO BOX 12846
AUSTIN, TX 78711
United States